What is backed up in Lightroom?

When you click that “Back Up” button on the Lightroom pop up window every so often, you’re creating a backup of that specific catalog — that database — but not the images themselves. … Don’t just make a copy of the images on the same drive they’re currently on, whether that’s your computer’s drive or an external drive.

What does a Lightroom backup do?

A backup of your files, including a Lightroom catalog backup, ensures that even if your computer is lost, your photography and work is saved in another location.

Is it OK to delete Lightroom backups?

Open the folder. Within the Lightroom catalog folder, you should see a folder named “Backups”. If your situation is anything like mine was, it’ll have backups all of the way back to when you first installed Lightroom. Delete the ones which you don’t need anymore.

What happens when you backup Lightroom catalog?

The backed up catalog is saved inside the date-stamped folder, with the same name as the working catalog. Lightroom Classic writes a new catalog every time it creates a backup. To save space on your hard disk, delete or compress old backup files.

Do I need to backup Lightroom?

Lightroom simply stores information about your photographs in a catalog. So even though your images aren’t technically “inside” Lightroom, you still need to backup your Lightroom catalogs. This will ensure that any edits you’ve made to your images are not lost.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How does Lightroom work?

Where are Lightroom photos stored?

If you want to locate your backup Lightroom catalogs, they are saved in the following locations by default: Windows: Users[user name]PicturesLightroom[catalog name]Backups Mac OS: /Users/[user name]/Pictures/Lightroom/[catalog name]/Backups

How long should I keep Lightroom backups?

You’re not going to skip over the most recent and jump back to one from 3 months ago. So, I recommend periodically going into the folder where your backup catalog copies are saved and just delete the oldest ones. I usually keep 3 – 4 most recent copies (just in case) and delete the rest.

Why is Lightroom taking up so much space?

Lightroom’s footprint has a tendency to grow as you add more photos to your Catalog. Don’t get me wrong – it still gives you a huge space saving compared to opening your photos one by one and converting them to 16 bit TIFF files, the old-fashioned way we used to do it before Lightroom Classic.

What happens if I delete my Lightroom catalog?

Deleting a catalog erases all the work you’ve done in Lightroom Classic that isn’t saved in the photo files. While the previews are deleted, the original photos being linked to are not deleted.